Educating the heart, mind, and soul in the Catholic tradition

Faith ~ Excellence ~ Passion

Saturday, January 2, 2016

Free Catholic Homeschooling Course Online



"What can I do to help my child learn faster, really understand schoolwork, and know how to study better?" As homeschooling parents, we ask ourselves this question all the time.

True, there are many ways to help -- but one thing is for sure: Developing skills and implementing good habits is critical to ensure our children's success. With excellent study, note taking, and test taking skills, our teens can have a successful high school career that  prepares them for life far beyond the teen years.

If our teens can learn how to get homework completed well, remember and apply the information, and ace all their tests, then learning will be easier and more enjoyable.

Here at Homeschool Connections, we want to help your teen accomplish just that.

How to Be an Excellent Student: Note Taking, Test Taking, and How to Get an A is a short-but-powerful course designed for your 7th to 10th grade student by Professor Erin Brown Conroy (author of Simplified Writing 101 and Master Teacher of over 30 years) and presented through Homeschool Connections.

And this course is now totally and completely FREE. 

REGISTRATION IS OPEN
To register, click here: Homeschool Connections Registration Page.
Then choose the Semester and click on "Search".

We are offering How to Be an Excellent Student free. Here are the upcoming dates (meets daily, Monday through Thursday). Choose the one that fits your schedule best:

Monday, May 02 to Thursday, May 05, 2016  Meets 1:00 pm Eastern (Noon Central; 11:00 Mountain; 10:00 Pacific)

Monday, June 27 to Thursday, June 30, 2016  Meets 11:30 am Eastern (10:30 Central; 9:30 Mountain; 8:30 Pacific)

Monday, August 08 to Thursday, August 11, 2016  Meets 11:30 am Eastern (10:30 Central; 9:30 Mountain; 8:30 Pacific)

Monday, August 22 to Thursday, August 25, 2016  Meets 1:00 pm Eastern (Noon Central; 11:00 Mountain; 10:00 Pacific)

The course details are as follows:

How to be an Excellent Student: Note Taking, Test Taking, and How to Get an A

Total classes: 4
Duration: 50 minutes
Prerequisite: None
Suggested grade level: 7th to 10th grade
Fee: FREE
Instructor: Erin Brown Conroy, MA, MFA
Course description: This course is designed to help your student become strong, confident, and able to study for any high school level course with success.
Course outline:
Class 1: Active listening and how to take notes effectively
Class 2: Active reading and how to study effectively
Class 3: Critical reading skills for comprehension
Class 4: Test-taking in a timed setting
Course materials: All materials provided FREE from the instructor.
Homework: This is a lecture course with approximately 2 hours work per class (reading and automated quizzes).

Please note: Registration is limited. We suggest registering early to ensure a seat. If your circumstances change and you will not participate in the course, please email us to cancel immediately. This way someone who is on the waiting list will be able to step into the course. Please treat this free course just as you would treat a paid course. Students and parents should be actively engaged in the classes. 

Homeschool Connections email: homeschoolconnections@gmail.com