Educating the heart, mind, and soul in the Catholic tradition

Faith ~ Excellence ~ Passion

Wednesday, April 8, 2015

How to Rock High School: Free Study Skills Classes


What is the number one way to rock your high school career? Great study skills! If you can learn how to get homework done in a breeze and ace all your tests, then you have it made.

You can do that. With good study, note taking, and test taking skills your high school years will be much easier and more fulfilling. Plus, a successful high school career will prepare you for life far beyond your teen years.

Here at Homeschool Connections, we want to help you accomplish all you can accomplish in high school. We want to help you develop good skills and implement good habits that will ensure your success.

Along with Professor Erin Brown Conroy (author of Simplified Writing 101), we created an online course just for you: How to Be an Excellent Student: Note Taking, Test Taking, and How to Get an A.

Now, here's the crazy part ... it's totally and completely FREE.

This course is designed for 7th to 10th grade students. So if you're looking forward to high school in a year or two and want to be prepared, or if you're already in high school looking to improve, we have you covered.

Now for all the course details ...

REGISTRATION IS OPEN
To register, click here: Homeschool Connections 2015/2016 Registration Page.
Then choose the semester and "search".

We are offering How to Be an Excellent Student FREE over the next three semesters. Here are the dates:

Summer 2015 Semester (daily):
M, T, W, Th May 4 to 7 at 1:00 PM Eastern (Noon Central; 11:00 Mountain; 10:00 Pacific)
M, T, W, Th, June 29 to July 2 at 1:00 PM Eastern (Noon Central; 11:00 Mountain; 10:00 Pacific)
Summer semester Excellent Student courses are full and closed.

Fall 2015 Semester (weekly):
Fridays, September 25 to October 16, 1:00 PM Eastern (Noon Central; 11:00 Mountain; 10:00 Pacific)
Fridays, November 6 to December 4 (No class Nov. 27), 1:00 PM Eastern (Noon Central; 11:00 Mountain; 10:00 Pacific)

Spring 2016 Semester (weekly):
Tuesdays, January 5 to 26, 3:00 PM Eastern (2:00 Central; 1:00 Mountain; Noon Pacific)

The course details are as follows:

How to be an Excellent Student: Note Taking, Test Taking, and How to Get an A

Total classes: 4
Duration: 50 minutes
Prerequisite: None
Suggested grade level: 7th to 10th grade
Fee: FREE
Instructor: Erin Brown Conroy, MA, MFA
Course description: This course is designed to help your student become strong, confident, and able to study for any high school level course with success.
Course outline:
Class 1: Active listening and how to take notes effectively
Class 2: Active reading and how to study effectively
Class 3: Critical reading skills for comprehension
Class 4: Test-taking in a timed setting
Course materials: All materials provided free from the instructor.
Homework: This is a lecture course with approximately 2 hours work per class (reading and automated quizzes).

Please note: Registration is limited. We suggest registering early to ensure a seat. If your circumstances change and you will not participate in the course, please email us to cancel immediately. This way someone who is on the waiting list will be able to step into the course. Please treat this free course just as you would treat a paid course. Students and parents should be actively engaged in the classes.

Homeschool Connections email: homeschoolconnections@gmail.com




No comments: